WQXR: The Cliburn Winners' First Public Appearance


Less than a week after the Van Cliburn Piano Competition, the gold, silver and bronze medalistscome to The Greene Space at WQXR for their first public appearance as winners. WQXR’s Elliott Forrest hosts this special sold-out evening of music and conversation.

The Winners:

Yekwon Sunwoo (Gold)
Kenneth Broberg (silver)
Daniel Hsu (Bronze)

Every four years, the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition convenes the most promising rising star pianists from around the world for 17 days of intense competition. Established in 1962, the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition is widely recognized as “one of the world’s highest-visibility classical music contests.” Winners are chosen by an esteemed panel of judges and awarded significant cash prizes, as well as three years of comprehensive career management and concert tours. Previous laureates include Radu Lupu, Olga Kern, Joyce Yang, Haochen Zhang and Vadym Kholodenko.

Cliburn Gold 2017 will be available on Decca Gold digitally on June 23; physically on August 18. Cliburn Silver 2017 and Cliburn Bronze 2017 albums are digital-only, also out on August 18.